keeping the dreams alive

stay safe

leave a comment »


It is rather depressing as I watch the news updates on the tv, news websites and from friends. The images are disturbing. I checked on my friends in Brissy. Thankfully, all of them are safe, one having to evacuate from the CBD.

Many of the places I used to hang out at in Brissy are now submerged under water. I am shock at how much the water has risen actually. Just take a look at the Brisbane eye.

Southbank (yes, that’s the ferry pontoon I believe) – courtesy of Adam

Brisbane eye – courtesy of Adam

One of the ovals in UQ (where I did my undergraduate degree) – courtesy of smh.com.au

Sir Fred Schonnell Drive – St Lucia – courtesy of smh.com.au

Coronation Drive! Regatta and UQ – where I used to hang out from time to time. Scary!

It’s been raining in Canberra since the weekend. But, this is nothing compared to the floods in Queensland/Brissy. I really hope things are okay when Brisbane river peaks tomorrow apparently.

Stay safe my friends.

That side, I might have to postpone my trip to Brissy next weekend again, for the 4th time. I really don’t want to have to do that, mainly because I have actually done cancellations on this Qantas voucher four times. It has now gone beyond what the ticket is really worth, with what I am paying with each cancellation.

Written by Jasmine

January 12, 2011 at 18:00

Posted in Aust

Leave a comment