keeping the dreams alive

Things you do when you need a break in Canberra…

leave a comment »


There is honestly nothing much to do in Canberra when you need a break, unless you are a huge fan of art galleries and all. Then again, how many times can you visit the same art galleries?

A year ago, when I first arrived in Canberra, I wanted to know how life is here. So, I set up a “Secret Canberra” facebook page, which has since reached more than 1,000 members. Gratifying effort. But, I couldn’t really get it going because there really isn’t anything secret about Canberra.

One year on, baking took over as the alternative instead. I used to bake in my undergraduate days, which I stopped when I went back to Singapore to work.

 

No Bake Nutella Cheesecake Attempt 1

A few days before the World Nutella Day on 5 February, I decided to make this “No Bake Nutella Cheesecake”. I love easy recipes.  There was nothing difficult about this recipe, apart from needing a fair bit of labour to crush the biscuits and to stir the cream cheese. Well, I am still unwilling to invest in a food processor and an electric mixer. I don’t think I need one anyway!

 

No bake Blueberry Cheesecake

The recipe is taken from all over the place. The biscuit crust is a standard, while the cheesecake recipe is taken from one website, with the blueberry puree recipe taken from another. I had initially started out using the same cheesecake recipe as the one for the Nutella cheesecake. But, half way through the process, it did strike me that the cheesecake is going to taste funny without Nutella (which essentially provided the sweetness in the above cheesecake.) Anyway, I modified and added just one block of cream cheese (instead of two), and some condensed milk. I suppose that’s why the cheesecake is a lil’ out of proportions.

 

Super easy white chocolate cups filled with eggless nutella mousse

I ran out of condensed milk. Hence, I added more nutella. Recipe found here.

 

I got bored of making cakes. I suppose this is why Nutella cheesecake attempt no.2 looks pretty sloppy!

Well, the blueberry cheesecake, the white chocolate cups and Nutella cheesecake attempt no.2 were all made in 3 hours. I had a rather horrid second consecutive week and wanted to make something. A friend wanted blueberry cheesecake. So, I decided to make that. But, along came two other recipes as well I guess.

Written by Jasmine

February 13, 2011 at 07:38

Posted in About Me, Bakes, Recipes

Leave a Reply

