keeping the dreams alive

pronounce my name properly or leave me alone

leave a comment »


I don’t mind people calling me Jay Z, jazz, jazzy, jazi, jas and the list goes on. Nicknames are certainly fine.

But, it’s not okay when you start calling me “Jasmineeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee”. It annoys me to no end when someone calls me by name and drag on the last syllable. Did going to school not help with your pronunciation?

A friend told me recently that people loves annoying me because I get “annoyed” easily. I believe in being nice to people and that there’s goodness in everyone. I can be sarcastic and mean if I want to be. But, I don’t see why I should be sarcastic every single day. Is that how you want to live your life? With a tinge of sarcasm? Sarcasm is an art, but you don’t do it everyday.

So, when someone went about and called me “Jasmineeeeeeeeeeeeeee” today, I told him off. I told him straight in his face to either pronounce my name properly or stop calling me. I have a name for a reason. I was annoyed, and I made sure he knows it well enough not to repeat this again.

Last week was a rough one. I sure hope this week will be a better week. Whatever it is, it is time to declutter my life.

Written by Jasmine

February 7, 2011 at 13:08

Posted in About Me, Friends, PhD

Leave a Reply

