keeping the dreams alive

passer-bys

leave a comment »


The other day, Mushi was telling me that friends can’t be depended on, which is why we depend on ourselves.

I suppose that’s true. What happened last Sunday only served to reinforce this. Well, basically, I had called on a friend to help to move the freezer and tv – the heaviest items I own, which I can’t manage. Several reminders and umpteen calls on the day itself. But, the friend failed to show up because the alarm clocks weren’t good enough. I was naturally a little disappointed but not angry, perhaps just ‘cos I did ask a month in advance and all. At the end of the day, I managed to get the college cleaners (the guys), and two other guy friends in Burgmann to help.

I guess that’s also the reason why I never got anyone to help me with moving when I was in Brissy. With all 4 moves, I shifted all by myself, and with the help of a cab. I do not like asking for help, if there isn’t a need for that. I guess I’m stubbornly independent in that manner.

At the end of the day, there are only a selected few friends in Singapore, and perhaps one or two here in Canberra that I know I can trust my life with. These are the friends I know I can rely on when I need help, or just about anytime. These are the friends I know that will stay for life. The rest are perhaps nothing but passer-bys.

 

 

Written by Jasmine

February 4, 2011 at 01:10

Posted in About Me, Friends

Leave a Reply

