keeping the dreams alive

Do we need a campaign for eating alone?

leave a comment »


I was reading this article on the Straits Times, when I got reminded of this post by miss ene. I started dining and watching movies alone at the age of 18 or 19. I would like to think this is partly due to becoming really independent since young, when my parents are working. In fact, I usually shop alone too, mainly because I think it’s just way more efficient that way, particularly since I shop like a guy. i.e. I have a shopping list of what I need, grab what I need, wear it and either decide to buy or toss it. That said, I still enjoy shopping with friends – girly chats and all are always fun.

I don’t sense the stigma that comes with eating alone in Singapore actually. It could just be me. In the last holiday back in Singapore in Dec, I was dining alone in several Japanese restaurants in town since I was shopping alone and needed a quick bite. I was usually given seats for 2 to 4 people. Honestly, everyone was just busy eating. Or, perhaps, I just couldn’t be bothered.

Do we really need a campaign for eating alone though? I think that’s pushing it a little. I can understand why Singaporeans feel conscious about themselves, particularly if you realise how much we like staring at each other. Each time I am back on a holiday in Singapore, there’s one distinctive feature I notice about Singaporeans. We just love to stare! I suppose that does contribute to making others feel uncomfortable.

 

Written by Jasmine

January 24, 2011 at 11:25

Leave a Reply

