keeping the dreams alive

sentimentality comes with age

leave a comment »


With age comes greater responsibilities. With age also comes more sentimentality. This is certainly new for someone who isn’t all too sentimental to start with.

At 18, leaving Singapore was simple. I wanted a new adventure and a different education system.

At 26, it is appearing to be much tougher than I expected.

I opened up my wardrobe this afternoon and wondered where I should start the “packing of my life into a luggage” from. I realised it isn’t going to be as simple as packing my clothes into my luggage.

Over the past 4 years (2006 – 2009), my life had centered around Singapore. My family (mom, brother and myself) became closer after 2006. Over the years, new friendships have formed and the good ole’ ones have remained. I enjoy my second job and take pride in it. I have colleagues whom I value. I run, I gym. I live comfortably. A comfort zone.

I clearly thought through my choices and decisions when I made them a few months ago. I spent a few hours in Starbucks writing up pros/cons of each choice. My close friend must have thought I was nuts when I showed her my pros/cons list.

So, why does it appear so tough now? Stepping out of the comfort zone after 4 years is just tough. period.

But, there is a need to prove myself, to get rid of that creeping feeling of incompetency I often get at work, and just to be so much better at what I am passionate about.

Sometimes, I just need to stop thinking that much and go with the flow.

Written by Jasmine

January 4, 2010 at 22:18

Posted in About Me, Contemplation

Leave a Reply

